Hardware Advice Compilation

If you touch your software enough does it become hardware?

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Thompy
Shambler In Drag
Shambler In Drag

Hardware Advice Compilation

Post by Thompy »

Feel free to post in this thread to update the advice I've given (as it is only my advice and I'm by no means an expert), recommend sites and guides or give general thread ideas. Keep general hardware discussions to separate threads.

News, Forum and Review Sites - These are the most prominent ones, and I've used all of them at some point, but I can't honestly vouch for their relative merits or validity.

AnandTech
Benchmark Reviews
bit-tech
Guru3D
HardOCP - Extensive forums.
HardwareCanucks
HardwareHeaven
HEXUS
Hi Tech Legion
JonnyGURU - PSU centric
Overclock3D
Overclockers Club
pcGameware - Jimmington's BF3 clan's review site.
TechPowerUp
Tom's Hardware - Good place for quality information and guides as well as extensive forums.

CPU: As it has been for the last few years, there's really only one way to go - Intel. AMD isn't close to the speed, feature set and power draw that Intel's last two Core branded processors offer.

The current best buy is the i5-2500(K), which is the 2nd gen i5 based on the Sandybridge architecture and uses the "1155" socket. You get four cores but no hyper-threading. Very few programs, including games, take much advantage of multiple cores, and even less can use hyper-threading, so there's no reason to plump a premium price for an i7. The (K) is optional. With it, you're getting a unlocked CPU, meaning overclocking. If you don't have any desire to do that then minus the (K) and knock £10 off. Keep in mind however that a stock 3.3GHz i5 will happily sit close to 4GHz without breaking a sweat, and it's easier to set up than it's ever been.

Recommended model: i5-2500(K)
Recommended manufacturer: Intel
P67 Sandy Bridge Overclocking Guide For Beginners